All Together Now

Prompt: “In the future everyone you know is a part of a Hive Mind, one day your loved ones stage an intervention.”

I didn’t mind it after awhile. Sure it was weird and kinda terrifying at first, but now it wasn’t so bad. It kinda made everything easier. I didn’t have to worry about lousy drivers or not getting my food on time. Sure they knew everything I did all through out the day, but what can you expect from a hive mind?

It had started with one person, then a town, then the county, the state, the country, and now everyone in the world. Well except for me, I was the last solo mind left. Unity, what the hive mind called itself, was actually pretty polite with me. They would only convert me if I wanted to. As nice as they were and how they had fixed all the problems facing our society in less than a week, I still had my reservations. Call me crazy, but I kinda liked my individuality. Plus with every problem in the world taken care of I had finally gotten around to writing. If Humanity was being taken over, someone might as well document it from an unbiased view.

Now the following scene takes place at my home. Unity had dropped me off from my trip to the city zoo. I walked up the concrete steps and opened my front door. Placing my bag down and slipping off my sneakers, I headed to the living room to watch some TV. In my living room I found what used to be my friends and family.

“Alright Unity, what’s going on here?” I asked.

“We just wanna have a talk with you,” said Unity from my mothers body, “We are concerned about you.”

Was Unity really doing this?  Is this an intervention for me?

“I already told you Unity, I’m not joining you,” I said angrily.

“You’re not acting like us,” Unity said from my best friends body, “we just want you to be happy.”

“I am happy,” I shouted, “this would be the greatest time of my life if you would just leave me alone!”

Unity was upset, all their faces looked disappointed, until Unity from my girlfriends body stood up.

“If that’s how you feel then I guess we won’t be seeing you any more,” Unity then left my house silently.

That was 3 weeks ago, I haven’t seen Unity at all after that day. The neighborhood’s quiet, the streets are empty, Unity was avoiding me. I knew hadn’t left because my power stayed on and food would arrive on my doorstep every morning. Even after I told them off, they still watched out for me from afar. I was grateful and began to regret what I said that day. I shouldn’t have been so hard on Unity, I just don’t want to share my body with them. Was that selfish of me? I mean who was I to judge Unity? My family and friends did look happy. Even my dad the alcoholic was cleaned up and was happy. I knew what I had to do. I picked up the phone.

“Unity, I’m ready to join you.”

Leave a Reply

