We Loving Few

The Prompt: It is many years in the future. A disease has wiped out 90% of the men on earth. Marriage is illegal and men are encouraged to breed with as many women as possible. Life is easy until you fall in love…

“You know in old days, most men would kill to be in our position!”

“Yeah and then they all got killed,” I responded. Bowman, was one of the older guys in our sector, always went on and on about the “old days” and how great we had it. Believe me I know how lucky I was, being born itself was a miracle. The infant mortality rate for males was 80% (though they try telling us it’s going down). Yet, I was still unhappy. Being a breeder, what they called us, wasn’t as glorious as Bowman made it out to be. Sure when I was younger, it was great, all different kinds of women and as many as I could take in a day. After awhile though, it just left me feeling… incomplete. Most of these women were just there to save the species. We shared an intimate moment and then they would leave without a second thought. Little did I know that would change very soon.

The order came in, I was to be relocated to a new RePop Facility on the west coast. I went to say goodbye to Bowman, he was the closest thing I had to a friend, but he was too busy with his “appointments” as he called them. The flight was long, what made it even longer was everyone staring at me. Males made up around 12% of the population, but we still were a rare sight outside of the RePop facilities. My handler’s name was Lucy, short with red hair and fair complexion, she was to make sure I didn’t wander off anywhere or get snatched up by some lunatic. On the flight I could feel all the eyes on me. This was also paired with the fact that this was only my 5th flight and I still hadn’t gotten used to it. I could feel myself starting to sweat and began trying to breathe slowly. Lucy had noticed my discomfort, “are you doing ok?” Oh god now I was being obvious and that only made me more nervous, “Yeah, just don’t like flying too much,” I managed to say. “Well you know, maybe I could help you get your mind off it,” say said with a grin as she placed her hand on my leg and moved towards my inner thigh. “I need to go to the bathroom,” and with that I quickly removed her hand from my thigh and bolted for the restroom. I splashed some water on my face and tried to collect myself. I stayed in there for the rest of the flight.

Need less to say the rest of the trip to the RePop facility was a silent one. Lucy was obviously offended that I didn’t accept her offer, but I just couldn’t. She wouldn’t understand, would anybody? The whole ordeal just made me feel more isolated. I moved my things into my new living quarters and headed for some lunch at the dining center.

That’s when I met them

I didn’t meet them in the breeding chambers, instead,I was walking down the hallway and I had zoned out. BANG all I saw was an explosion of books and papers fly everywhere. “Oh my god, I’m so sorry,” I said as I kneeled down and hurried to rush down and start cleaning up the mess I mad of their things. They just laughed and said not to worry about it, then starting gathering as well. As we picked up the last papers, I handed the stack back to them. Then our eyes met, in that moment I felt something. Something deep down in side, I wasn’t sure what it was. “Sorry about that again, I’ll have to get a meal some time to make up for it,” I tried to say as nonchalant as possible. “I’d like that.”

That lunch turned into another, then a dinner, then spending most of our free time together. We had grown so close so quickly, I felt happy. We both agreed that we finally felt complete together in this crazy world. Not everything was perfect, it began effecting my job, a couldn’t bear be intimate with anyone else. My supervisors began to notice. Soon our daily lunches were being closely monitored, being followed throughout the facility. I knew they would never let us be together. I came up with a plan.

5 days later we left. Snuck out in the middle of the night. We had no where to go and we going to hunted down. It wasn’t gonna be easy. But what can I say?

I loved him.

Leave a Reply

